The Mine Ban Treaty is one of the world's most widely accepted treaties: over 80% of the world's countries are States Parties to the treaty. There are currently 164 States Parties. Only 32 states remain outside the treaty, but most of them do not actually use or produce antipersonnel mines.

Country Status
Rollover country to view details \ Click and drag to navigate map
Landmine and Cluster Munition Monitor
and ongoing public updates

"Universalization" means getting as many states as possible on board the Mine Ban Treaty. The ICBL works tirelessly to promote universalization, in partnership with states and key partners such as the International Committee of the Red Cross and United Nations agencies. In order to achieve a truly universal ban on landmines and cluster munitions, non-state armed groups must also be encouraged to ban these weapons.


All states still outside the treaty: join without further delay!

In addition, the holdouts can help solidify the norms of the treaty by taking interim steps toward a total ban, including:

  • Adopt a moratorium on the use, production, and transfer of antipersonnel mines
  • Provide information about antipersonnel mine stockpiles and start destroying them
  • Assist landmine survivors, their families and communities
  • Engage in mine clearance and mine risk education where it is needed
  • Vote in favor of the annual United Nations General Assembly resolution on the treaty in First Committee and at the General Assembly
  • Submit a voluntary transparency report with all relevant information
  • Attend treaty meetings

All States Parties to the treaty: promote the universalization of the treaty and the ban norm more broadly!

And more particularly:

  • Promote ratification of/accession to the treaty, in particular in regions with low adherence
  • Promote and encourage universal adherence to the norms of the treaty
  • Condemn and discourage any use, production, or transfer of antipersonnel mines
  • Encourage states not party to participate in the work of the treaty and to take interim steps toward joining.

Status of the Mine Ban Treaty

Non-signatories (32): Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, China, Cuba, Egypt, Georgia, India, Iran, Israel, Kazakhstan, North Korea, South Korea, Kyrgyzstan, Lao PDR, Lebanon, Libya, Micronesia, Mongolia, Morocco, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Syria, Tonga, United Arab Emirates, United States, Uzbekistan, Vietnam

Signatory (1): Marshall Islands

States Parties (164): Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Cote d’Ivoire, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Democratic Republic of Congo, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Estonia, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Gambia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Holy See, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Iraq, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Latvia, Lesotho, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, North Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Niue, Norway, Oman, Palau, Palestine, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe